Volume 2, Issue 1 (6-2020)                   pbp 2020, 2(1): 35-41 | Back to browse issues page

XML Print

Download citation:
BibTeX | RIS | EndNote | Medlars | ProCite | Reference Manager | RefWorks
Send citation to:

Elyasi H, Rahimi H, Sepahvend A. Gelatin: advantages and disadvantages of gelatin from plant and animal sources. pbp 2020; 2 (1) :35-41
URL: http://pbp.medilam.ac.ir/article-1-45-en.html
1- Student Research Committee, Faculty of Medicine, Lorestan University of Medical Sciences, Khorramabad, Iran
2- Razi Herbal Medicines Research Center, Lorestan University of Medical Sciences, Khorramabad, Iran , fungimed44@yahoo.com
Abstract:   (3795 Views)
Gelatin is a solid and transparent material that has wide application in various industries, especially for the production of food and pharmaceutical. This material is mainly made from meat, skin and bones of pigs and cows around the world. The industrial process of gelatin production is a long and costly process. It seems; these sources of gelatin production may be harmful to health. Therefore, this study was aimed at reviewing the alternative sources of gelatin production and the disadvantages and benefits of each of them. Relevant articles were searched from Google Scholar, Pub Med, Scopus, Science direct, and Cochrane library. According to the results of this article, gelatin with a source of animal can have many harmful effects on human health. While it is possible to produce good and useful gelatin using plant sources. Nowadays, from materials such as agar, pectin, carrageenan and konjac that are mentioned above, and as well as other materials, very good gelatins are prepared. And further researches are needed to find the rich sources of good gelatins or to find plants that have appropriate gelatin. In total, in gelatin, there are 18 types of amino acids, and of 10 amino acids needed for the body, 9 are in gelatin. In total, gelatin is introduced safe by the FDA.
Note: This article has been revised and rewritten due to the request of the corresponding author from the journal "Plant Biotechnology Persa" due to the use of unreferenced contents. In October 2023, the journal " Plant Biotechnology Persa " accepted the revised version of article following the COPE rules. Formerly title of paper: Gelatin, halal or haram?.
Full-Text [PDF 1041 kb]   (2639 Downloads)    
Type of Study: Research |
Received: 2019/12/28 | Accepted: 2020/04/18 | Published: 2020/06/20

1. Shaw G, Lee-Barthel A, Ross ML, et al. Vitamin C–enriched gelatin supplementation before intermittent activity augments collagen synthesis. Am J Clin Nutr. 2017 Jan 1;105(1):136-43.
2. Mariod AA, Fadul H. gelatin, source, extraction and industrial applications. Acta Sci Pol Technol Aliment. 2013; 30;12(2):135-47.
3. Schortgen F, Lacherade JC, Bruneel F, et al. Effects of hydroxyethylstarch and gelatin on renal function in severe sepsis: a multicentre randomised study. The Lancet. 2001 Mar 24;357(9260):911-6.
4. Hoque ME, Nuge T, Yeow TK, et al. Gelatin Based Scaffolds for Tissue Engineering-A Review. Polymers Research Journal. 2015 Jan 1;9(1):15.
5. Ishida K, Kuroda R, Miwa M, et al. The regenerative effects of platelet-rich plasma on meniscal cells in vitro and its in vivo application with biodegradable gelatin hydrogel. Tissue engineering. 2007; 1;13(5):1103-12.
6. Yang D, Li Y, Nie J. Preparation of gelatin/PVA nanofibers and their potential application in controlled release of drugs. Carbohydr Polym. 2007 Jun 25;69(3):538-43.
7. Kantaria S, Rees GD, Lawrence MJ. Gelatin-stabilised microemulsion-based organogels: rheology and application in iontophoretic transdermal drug delivery. J Control Release. 1999; 5;60(2):355-65.
8. Ahmad T, Ismail A, Ahmad SA, et al. Recent advances on the role of process variables affecting gelatin yield and characteristics with special reference to enzymatic extraction: A review. Food Hydrocoll. 2017 Feb 28;63:85-96.
9. Lee JH, Kim MR, Jo CH, et al. Specific PCR assays to determine bovine, porcine, fish and plant origin of gelatin capsules of dietary supplements. Food chem. 2016; 15;211:253-9.
10. Serra IR, Fradique R, Vallejo MC, et al. Production and characterization of chitosan/gelatin/β-TCP scaffolds for improved bone tissue regeneration. Materials Science and Engineering: C. 2015 Oct 1;55:592-604.
11. Sun J, Huang Y, Wang W, et al. Application of gelatin as a binder for the sulfur cathode in lithium–sulfur batteries. Electrochim Acta. 2008 Oct 15;53(24):7084-8.
12. Lin H, Cheng AW, Alexander PG, et al. Cartilage tissue engineering application of injectable gelatin hydrogel with in situ visible-light-activated gelation capability in both air and aqueous solution. Tissue Engineering Part A. 2014; 7;20(17-18):2402-11.
13. Prosekov A, Petrov A, Ulrich E, et al. Physical and Chemical Properties of Capsule Shell Based on Plant Analogues of Pharmaceutical Gelatin. Biol Med 2015;7(2):2.
14. HAYAKAWA T, MOCHIZUKI C, AMEMIYA T, et al. Bone response of gelatin composite including the apatite prepared from an amino acid calcium complex. Journal of Oral Tissue Engineering. 2015;12(3):115-20.
15. Nakano Y, Tobe T, Choi-Miura NH, et al. Isolation and characterization of GBP28, a novel gelatin-binding protein purified from human plasma. The Journal of Biochemistry. 1996 Oct 1;120(4):803-12.
16. Hanani ZN, Roos YH, Kerry JP. Use and application of gelatin as potential biodegradable packaging materials for food products. Int J Biol Macromol. 2014 Nov 30;71:94-102.
17. Licodiedoff S, Koslowski LA, Scartazzini L, et al. Conservation of physalis by edible coating of gelatin and calcium chloride. International Food Research Journal. 2016 Dec 1;23(4).
18. Kevadiya BD, Rajkumar S, Bajaj HC, et al. Biodegradable gelatin–ciprofloxacin–montmorillonite composite hydrogels for controlled drug release and wound dressing application. Colloids Surf B Biointerfaces. 2014 Oct 1;122:175-83.
19. Cui Q, Yashchenok A, Zhang L, et al. Fabrication of bifunctional gold/gelatin hybrid nanocomposites and their application. ACS Appl Mater Interfaces.. 2014; 16;6(3):1999-2002.
20. Håkonsen H, Lees K, Toverud EL. Cultural barriers encountered by Norwegian community pharmacists in providing service to non-Western immigrant patients. Int J Clin Pharm. 2014 Dec 1;36(6):1144-51.
21. Brown R. How Gelatin Becomes an Essential Symbol of Muslim Identity: Food Practice as a Lens into the Study of Religion and Migration. Religious Studies and Theology. 2016 Dec 1;35(2):185.
22. Robinson K, Hoey M. Religion and drugs. Student BMJ. 2009 Oct 1;17.
23. Domínguez-Courtney MF, López-Malo A, Palou E, et al. Optimization of mechanical properties of carboxymethyl cellulose, carrageenan and/or xanthan gum gels as alternatives of gelatin softgels capsules. Optimization. 2015 Nov;2(11).
24. Nanji A, French S. Relationship between pork consumption and cirrhosis. The Lancet. 1985 Mar 23;325(8430):681-3.
25. Murphy KJ, Parker B, Dyer KA, et al. A comparison of regular consumption of fresh lean pork, beef and chicken on body composition: a randomized cross-over trial. Nutrients. 2014 Feb 14;6(2):682-96.
26. Wang XQ, Terry PD, Cheng L, et al. Interactions between pork consumption, CagA status and IL-1B-31 genotypes in gastric cancer. World J Gastroenterol: WJG. 2014 Jul 7;20(25):8151.
27. Gonwong S, Chuenchitra T, Khantapura P, et al. Pork consumption and seroprevalence of hepatitis E virus, Thailand, 2007–2008. Emerging infectious diseases. 2014 Sep;20(9):1531.
28. Bouvard V, Loomis D, Guyton KZ, et al. Carcinogenicity of consumption of red and processed meat. Lancet Oncol. 2015 Dec 1;16(16):1599.
29. Song P, Lu M, Yin Q, et al. Red meat consumption and stomach cancer risk: a meta-analysis. Journal of cancer research and clinical oncology. J Cancer Res Clin Oncol. 2014 Jun;140(6):979-92.
30. Tuyet-Hanh TT, Sinh DX, Phuc PD, et al. Exposure assessment of chemical hazards in pork meat, liver, and kidney, and health impact implication in Hung Yen and Nghe An provinces, Vietnam. Int J Public Health. 2017 Feb 1;62(1):75-82.
31. Sudjadi, Wardani HS, Sepminarti T, et al. Analysis of porcine Gelatin DNA in a commercial capsule shell using real-time polymerase chain reaction for halal authentication. International Journal of Food Properties. 2016 Sep 1;19(9):2127-34.
32. Mariod AA, Fadul H. gelatin, source, extraction and industrial applications. Acta Sci Pol Technol Aliment. 2013 Jun 30;12(2):135-47.
33. Petrov A, Dyshlyuk L, Koroleva O, et al. Light Transmission Coefficient and the Thickness of Soft Capsule Shells Derived from Plant Analogs of Pharmaceutical Gelatin. Biol Med (Aligarh). 2015;7(2):2.
34. Elzoghby AO. Gelatin-based nanoparticles as drug and gene delivery systems: reviewing three decades of research. J Control Release. 2013 Dec 28;172(3):1075-91.
35. Bonilla J, Sobral PJ. Investigation of the physicochemical, antimicrobial and antioxidant properties of gelatin-chitosan edible film mixed with plant ethanolic extracts. Food Bioscience. 2016 Dec 1;16:17-25.
36. Al-Hassan AA. Extraction and Characterization of Halal Gelatin from Fish Skin. Journal of Agricultural and Veterinary Sciences. 2016 Oct 21;9(1).
37. Mironova MM, Kovaleva EL. Comparative Analysis of Quality Assessment Requirements for Gelatin Used in Drug Production. Pharmaceutical Chemistry Journal. 2017 Mar 1;50(12):820-5.
38. Hoogenboom LA, Van Eijkeren JC, Zeilmaker MJ, et al. A novel source for dioxins present in recycled fat from gelatin production. Chemosphere. 2007 Jun 30;68(5):814-23.
39. Nicolas-Simonnot MO, Tréguer V, Leclerc JP, et al. Experimental study and modelling of gelatin production from bone powder: elaboration of an overall kinetic scheme for the acid process. Chemical Engineering Journal. 1997 Apr 1;67(1):55-64.
40. Asyakina LK, Belousova OS, Avstrievskih AN, et al. Study of organoleptic, physical-chemical and technological properties of the plant analogues of pharmaceutical gelatin production for soft capsules. Foods and Raw materials. 2015;3(1).
41. Jamaludin MA, Zaki NN, Ramli MA, et al. Istihalah: analysis on the utilization of Gelatin in food products. In2nd International Conference on Humanities, Historical and Social Sciences, IPEDR 2011 (Vol. 17).
42. Hafidz RM, Yaakob CM, Amin I, et al. Chemical and functional properties of bovine and porcine skin gelatin. International Food Research Journal. 2011;18(2011):813-7.
43. Hess AS, Islam Z, Hess MK, et al. Comparison of host genetic factors influencing pig response to infection with two North American isolates of porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome virus. Genetics Selection Evolution. 2016 Jun 20;48(1):43.
44. Niederwerder MC, Rowland RR. Is There a Risk for Introducing Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome Virus (PRRSV) Through the Legal Importation of Pork?. Food Environ Virol. 2017 Mar 1;9(1):1-3.
45. Jaques T. Cadbury and pig DNA: when issue management intersects with religion. Corporate Communications: An International Journal. 2015 Oct 5;20(4):468-82.
46. Islam MT. Awareness, Emphasized on Swine Meat Consumption. Asian Journal of Ethnopharmacology and Medicinal Foods. 2016:11.
47. Curtis EE. Science and Technology in Elijah Muhammad’s Nation of Islam. Nova Religio: The Journal of Alternative and Emergent Religions. 2016 Aug 1;20(1):5-31.
48. Barbin DF, ElMasry G, Sun DW, et al. Non-destructive assessment of microbial contamination in porcine meat using NIR hyperspectral imaging. Innovative Food Science & Emerging Technologies. 2013 Jan 31;17:180-91.
49. Mozzicato SM, Tripathi A, Posthumus JB, et al. Porcine or Bovine Valve Replacement in Three Patients with IgE Antibodies to the Mammalian Oligosaccharide Galactose-alpha-1, 3-Galactose. J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract. 2014 Sep;2(5):637.
50. Abente EJ, Santos J, Lewis NS, et al. The molecular determinants of antibody recognition and antigenic drift in the H3 hemagglutinin of swine influenza A virus. J Virol. 2016 Sep 15;90(18):8266-80.
51. Vegosen L, Breysse PN, Agnew J,et al. Occupational Exposure to Swine, Poultry, and Cattle and Antibody Biomarkers of Campylobacter jejuni Exposure and Autoimmune Peripheral Neuropathy. PloS one. 2015 Dec 4;10(12):e0143587.
52. Jones TH, Muehlhauser V. F-coliphages, porcine adenovirus and porcine teschovirus as potential indicator viruses of fecal contamination for pork carcass processing. Int J Food Microbiol. 2017 Jan 16;241:237-43.
53. Pensaert MB, Sanchez RE, Ladekjær-Mikkelsen AS, et al. Viremia and effect of fetal infection with porcine viruses with special reference to porcine circovirus 2 infection. Veterinary Microbiology. 2004 Feb 4;98(2):175-83.
54. Milios KT, Drosinos EH, Zoiopoulos PE. Food Safety Management System validation and verification in meat industry: Carcass sampling methods for microbiological hygiene criteria–A review. Food Control. 2014 Sep 30;43:74-81.
55. Goyette-Desjardins G, Auger JP, Xu J, et al. Streptococcus suis, an important pig pathogen and emerging zoonotic agent—an update on the worldwide distribution based on serotyping and sequence typing. Emerg Microbes Infect. 2014 Jun;3(6):e45.
56. Okello AL, Burniston S, Conlan JV, et al. Prevalence of endemic pig-associated zoonoses in southeast Asia: a review of findings from the Lao People's Democratic Republic. Am J Trop Med Hyg. 2015 May 6;92(5):1059-66.
57. Gabriël S, Johansen MV, Pozio E, et al. Human migration and pig/pork import in the European :union:: What are the implications for Taenia solium infections?. Vet Parasitol. 2015 Sep 30;213(1):38-45.
58. Papuc C, Goran GV, Predescu CN, et al. Mechanisms of oxidative processes in meat and toxicity induced by postprandial degradation products: A Review. Compr Rev Food Sci Food Saf. 2017 Jan 1;16(1):96-123.
59. Schook LB, Collares TV, Darfour-Oduro KA, et al. Unraveling the swine genome: implications for human health. Annu Rev Anim Biosci. 2015;3:219-44.
60. McKenney ML, Schultz KA, Boyd JH, et al. Epicardial adipose excision slows the progression of porcine coronary atherosclerosis. J Cardiothorac Surg. 2014 Jan 3;9(1):2.
61. Bogdanovic J, Halsey NA, Wood RA, et al. Bovine and porcine gelatin sensitivity in milk and meat-sensitized children. J Allergy Clin Immunol. 2009 Nov;124(5):1108.
62. Martelli P, Ferrari L, Morganti M, et al. One dose of a porcine circovirus 2 subunit vaccine induces humoral and cell-mediated immunity and protects against porcine circovirus-associated disease under field conditions. Veterinary microbiology. 2011 May 5;149(3):339-51.
63. Pool V, Braun MM, Kelso JM, etal. Prevalence of anti-gelatin IgE antibodies in people with anaphylaxis after measles-mumps-rubella vaccine in the United States. Pediatrics. 2002 Dec 1;110(6):e71-.
64. Sakaguchi M, Nakayama T, Inouye S. Food allergy to gelatin in children with systemic immediate-type reactions, including anaphylaxis, to vaccines. J Allergy Clin Immunol. 1996 Dec 31;98(6):1058-61.
65. Uyttebroek A, Sabato V, Bridts CH, et al. Anaphylaxis to succinylated gelatin in a patient with a meat allergy: galactose-α (1, 3)-galactose (α-gal) as antigenic determinant. J Clin Anesth. 2014 Nov 30;26(7):574-6.
66. Pinson ML, Waibel KH. Safe administration of a gelatin-containing vaccine in an adult with galactose-α-1, 3-galactose allergy. Vaccine. 2015 Mar 3;33(10):1231-2.
67. Brown P, Will RG, Bradley R, et al. Bovine spongiform encephalopathy and variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease: background, evolution, and current concerns. Emerging infectious diseases. 2001 Jan;7(1):6.
68. Karim AA, Bhat R. Fish gelatin: properties, challenges, and prospects as an alternative to mammalian gelatins. Food Hydrocoll. 2009 May 31;23(3):563-76.
69. Haug IJ, Draget KI, Smidsrød O. Physical and rheological properties of fish gelatin compared to mammalian gelatin. Food Hydrocoll. 2004 Mar 31;18(2):203-13.
70. Fujimoto W, Fukuda M, Yokooji T, et al. Anaphylaxis provoked by ingestion of hydrolyzed fish collagen probably induced by epicutaneous sensitization. Allergol Int. 2016;65(4):474-6.
71. Strauss G, Gibson SM. Plant phenolics as cross-linkers of gelatin gels and gelatin-based coacervates for use as food ingredients. Food Hydrocoll. 2004 Jan 31;18(1):81-9.
72. Rocasalbas G, Francesko A, Touriño S, et al. Laccase-assisted formation of bioactive chitosan/gelatin hydrogel stabilized with plant polyphenols. Carbohydr Polym. 2013 Feb 15;92(2):989-96.
73. Coetzee J, Merwe CF. Penetration rate of glutaraldehyde in various buffers into plant tissue and gelatin gels. J Microsc. 1985 Feb 1;137(2):129-36.
74. Yan M, Li B, Zhao X, et al. Physicochemical properties of gelatin gels from walleye pollock (Theragra chalcogramma) skin cross-linked by gallic acid and rutin. Food Hydrocoll. 2011 Jul 31;25(5):907-14.
75. Frank D, Eyres GT, Piyasiri U, et al. Effects of agar gel strength and fat on oral breakdown, volatile release, and sensory perception using in vivo and in vitro systems. J Agric Food Chem. 2015 Oct 13;63(41):9093-102.
76. Kumari A, Prasad A. Assessment of agar gel immunodiffusion test for seroprevalence of infectious bursal disease infection. Indian Journal of Comparative Microbiology, Immunology and Infectious Diseases. 2015;36(2):90-1.
77. Zong Y, Han JH, Oh YJ, et al. Release Profile and Antimicrobial Activity of Nisin Control-released from Agar Gel Foods. 산업식품공학. 2017 Feb 28;21(1):36-41.
78. Wang Z, Yang K, Brenner T, et al. The influence of agar gel texture on sucrose release. Food Hydrocoll. 2014 May 31;36:196-203.
79. Kay RM, Truswell AS. Effect of citrus pectin on blood lipids and fecal steroid excretion in man. Am J Clin Nutr. 1977 Feb 1;30(2):171-5.
80. Mohnen D. Pectin structure and biosynthesis. Curr Opin Plant Biol. 2008 Jun 30;11(3):266-77.
81. Thakur BR, Singh RK, Handa AK, et al. Chemistry and uses of pectin—a review. Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr. 1997 Feb 1;37(1):47-73.
82. Grassino AN, Halambek J, Djaković S, et al. Utilization of tomato peel waste from canning factory as a potential source for pectin production and application as tin corrosion inhibitor. Food hydrocoll. 2016 Jan 31;52:265-74.
83. Tkalec G, Knez Ž, Novak Z. Fast production of high-methoxyl pectin aerogels for enhancing the bioavailability of low-soluble drugs. The Journal of Supercritical Fluids. 2015 Dec 31;106:16-22.
84. Li J, Wang Y, Jin W, et al. Application of micronized konjac gel for fat analogue in mayonnaise. Food Hydrocoll. 2014 Mar 31;35:375-82.
85. Jimenez-Colmenero F, Cofrades S, Herrero AM, et al. Konjac gel for use as potential fat analogue for healthier meat product development: Effect of chilled and frozen storage. Food Hydrocoll. 2013 Jan 31;30(1):351-7.
86. Jiménez-Colmenero F, Triki M, Herrero AM, et al. Healthy oil combination stabilized in a konjac matrix as pork fat replacement in low-fat, PUFA-enriched, dry fermented sausages. LWT-Food Science and Technology. 2013 Apr 30;51(1):158-63.
87. Li MY, Feng GP, Wang H, et al. Deacetylated Konjac Glucomannan Is Less Effective in Reducing Dietary-Induced Hyperlipidemia and Hepatic Steatosis in C57BL/6 Mice. J Agric Food Chem. 2017 Feb 17;65(8):1556-65.
88. Bhowmick B, Sarkar G, Rana D, et al. Effect of carrageenan and potassium chloride on an in situ gelling ophthalmic drug delivery system based on methylcellulose. RSC Advances. 2015;5(74):60386-91.

Add your comments about this article : Your username or Email:

Send email to the article author

Rights and permissions
Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.